Good news in the Comfort Zone (EQ2)


Comfort

Level 1 Fledge-Iksar about to leave The Zone!

As you can tell by the intermittent blogging, I’m not really settled back in yet. All my little routines and systems still need to be reinstated, it is like a dashboard gradually lighting up as things are put back in place. It’s lovely and all, being refurbished, but it’s very dislocating. Things are the same, but not the same. Nooneeenoonooo (twilight zone music) – and the house-moves were just plain disruptive.  Plus of course for some reason I’m having a whole-life type rethink and re-balance that bubbled up from somewhere in my depths about two years ago and has just gathered more and more momentum as I go.

There’s a very good reason for comfort zones! They promote inner stability in times of disruption.  And right now, I’m magnetically attracted to my comfort zone. I do know all this change is good, I’m pretty sure where I’m headed. I’m now millions more flexible and fitter. But I’m making full use of my comfort zone!  A year or two ago for gaming that would have been WoW or Wurm, but I’ve moved on. I like EQ2 now.

And with one of those miracles of serendipity that I’m prone to, EQ2 has decided to pick now to give us all one free Heroic Character, plus gear that I wouldn’t have to pay to unlock if I was silver just now, and sundry deals to do with buying expansions. Oh yes, and you can buy mercenaries and tradeskill apprentices for SC. There are many goodies. Cosmic thingies strike again!

Now, I do like plittering about and levelling really slowly so I wasn’t sure what to do with an 85 character. I’ve settled on trying out as many classes as I can squeeze into the 14 day free trials. You can try out a new heroic character before you heroic it for good – that’s the part I’m mostly taking advantage of.  So far the favourite is a froglok warden. There are so many classes though, even if you take away the classes I already have, that leaves some err… mental arithmetic isn’t in the Comfort Zone… um dunno …17?

Plenty to play with. The creation of a character is pretty much painless – do mind though that you only get one fully made heroic per already existing account, so if planning to delete, make sure you go for the trial option. One thing I did have to do every time was hit f10 and  pull the right hand of my bottom menu bar onto the screen – for some reason my bags, character, knowledge etc icons were offscreen.

And you start out in some icy place I never visited before, with quests and it’s great! And new and exciting and you feel so very powerful and all the spells and stuff! Yes, I am definitely enjoying. But why the Iksar, I hear you cry, why a pic of a level 1 Iksar? Well because although the Heroics are really fun to play and exciting, Level 1 is in firmly my comfort zone and right now the little Iksar’s journey is a way of internalising my own life and times.

So here I am rubberbanding between mighty and powerful mighty, powerful powerful characters and  …starter-Neriak 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.