Week of strange calm


I’m glad it’s Friday, Friday quite late but everyone is tucked in bed and warm and fed and reasonably hygaenic which is quite good enough. Odd week. My heating works – yay! My zapped hard drive cannot be fixed – boo! I found a really nice gold colour for the Hobo – yay! The wheels on the Hobo don’t go round and round – boo! Yet – yay! And – now that April’s carefully constructed deathtrap has been fully deployed with all it’s intricate little parts that neatly fit together, we’re into the more straightforward time where the nation has to deal with it as it unfurls, which means I can (gratefully) return to PlanetGardenShed unless required to make soup/provide ear/help out/mop up/  – who knows. At some point this thing will have to be dismantled. The only way is up!

So… Gardenshed! Well, I’d hoped to have something nice to screenshot, and I could put the gold colour on the hobo, but I think I’ll hold back a bit. Mostly I’m happy. I’ve got a working prototype – for PlanetGardenShed, that is, not for any game yet. It’s a basic workspace that will soon look ok (when some easy textures are added) and where I can try things out, build things, mess about generally. Basic as in a basis, a framework, a good starting point for many directions. It works in that pressing keys makes things happen – I can add more as and when I want to try things. Wheels going round for example. I think that’s because I don’t know how to script for grouped objects. The little green shoots of learning C++, HTML5, Python are growing steadily. It’s all interesting and engaging, and thank goodness, a hobby.

A strange thing is happening.

Grey, metallic and bleak as it is, I spend more time now in GardenShed than I do playing games. Still, I did manage to squeeze some in – Fruit Salad as soon as I have time. And yes, I do know that Margaret Thatcher died, but not much to say about it as I didn’t know her personally and wasn’t particularly impressed when she was prime minister. One thing struck me, despite concerted media pumping and hype there is not an upsurge of national mourning. The BBPropaganda is in a pickle since they unbiasedly report and play the nation’s top favourite songs every week. “Ding Dong The Witch is Dead” is number two, and they have had to have a wee agonize about what to do. To unbiasedly report, or not to unbiasedly report – and play it. Apols to Hamlet.

The art of safe protest is not dead, it would seem. The late prime minister’s legacy is the current crop of brats partying on the bones of the weak. Like me, a lot of people don’t like that. A lot of people aren’t going to mourn the passing of it’s most famous advocate. I hate “interesting times”.

Oh alright then – for anyone interested, one Golden Hobo:

GH

Categories: Oddments, PlanetGardenShed, Vague Rambly Stuff

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Week of strange calm

  1. What’s up, yes this piece of writing is really good and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging. thanks.

  2. I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s articles daily along with a mug of coffee.

    • That’s amazing! I try to write a little for half hour every day with a cup of tea! It’s like we are sharing a coffee break 🙂 Seriously I’m very glad you enjoy it, thank you for this kind compliment and wishing you well.

      Av

  3. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d truly appreciate it.

    • I think it would be hard to stop that – I don’t even try…but I also keep my best ideas off the blog, and my best art/writing etc. I try to just keep the blog informal and fun and if I put something here and someone copies, I try to feel flattered that it was good enough to steal – Not much comfort, I know 😦

      …my goodness you have a blog. I like it! I will put a link to it on my Blogroll.

  4. Was thinking a little more… the other thing is only I know what is inside that spaceship in the picture, or underneath it, or where it is going, or how many weapons it has or who is the pilot. Nobody can steal that part of the art that only I know. They can only take what has been shown, and what is shown is only part. Oh dear, bad poetry again hehehehe (blush)

  5. Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting
    company you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog
    in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a fair price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

    • This is a blog hosted by WordPress, rather than a website – and it’s free too!! I hear ya – I chose WordPress to host my blog precisely because it loaded faster than any of the others and have been happy with it.
      I only use the free blog hosting which is limited, but has some nice features. WordPress also does site hosting I believe, but last time I looked that was quite limited. Depends what you need I suppose. Anyway WordPress.com is fine for blogging and they make it easy to start your blog as well. Hope that’s helpful

      Av 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.