Not a dead parrot (Blender Game Engine)


It is a pleasure to see this thread.

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?248538-New-BGE-Features

We know the Game Engine is in outer darkness with very little attention given to it, but it surely has some determined supporters and what’s more they put their time in. When I look above me in this world I see nobut a morass of incompetence and spite it is true. When I look around though, at my level, I see that people know perfectly well how to get things done and work together without being directed or supervised or ridden or threatened with destitution.

While the people working on Candy are primarily artists, (and the Candy branch is about eye-candy) – Blender as always remains moving and alive, and the artisty people are helping out the Game Engine. Remarkably, within the thread are offers to donate, and not just one or two either.

You don’t see that very often.

There is talk of a kickstarter project, but I’m not sure it’s up yet. I will check and when it is you may be sure I will be writing about it here. It’s great that there is a way people can give directly to the engine and not necessarily to the whole foundation, worthy though the foundation is in itself. It’s a way of voting, really. If money is seen to be coming in, perhaps interest in the engine will revive at Blender HQ.

I think it’s something I’ll look into too – the Blender code. Graphics people aren’t too likely to sit and optimise, they might not venture into physics or game design either. I can’t do anything of any significance yet. However I do want to have a look. Maybe able to help out later when I know more, who knows.  Keeping eye on.

Wonderful thread, and that is such solid support being voiced. Ahhh does the heart good 🙂

Categories: Blender Game Engine, Game Design and Creation

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Not a dead parrot (Blender Game Engine)

  1. An attention-grabbing dialogue is price comment. I think that you must write extra on this subject,
    it won’t be a taboo subject however usually persons are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  2. Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster
    then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a honest
    price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

    • Actually I’m not using a webhost for this – it’s a free WordPress blog – there are limits to what you can do, but yes, it loads properly and I’ve been happy with it for all the time I’ve used it. Hope that’s helpful

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.