Wurm Online Begunner’s Guide (PVE) Safe Spot: Part 4


Oct 27: added some more

Oct something or other 2012:  and will take a long time due to me not having a lot of time – I apologize. As usual I’ll work on it semi-live over some weeks. That way people who agreed to be in it can see what I’ve done with them muhahahaha and squeak if they are not happy.

My thanks to everyone who agreed to appear in this guide
and assurances to the good folk of Deli that when I am done I will destroy any structures I no longer need.
Your server is very pretty!]

So! Between the last part of this and this part of this there have been many changes and developments, which is normal for Wurm. Notably, you can’t build ships in carts anymore (but I wasn’t planning to) and Celebration launched which means Basalt faces a longer swim or journey in her rowboat once it is made. I no longer own the Exodus deed – she’ll have to go further south to Celebration to touch base. Or further north to Independence – maybe I will do a poll for that decision when the time comes 🙂

On with the story then. I already had a wily plan for storing the parts of this rowboat when I stopped writing last time – Keela is a way to safely store things, and, even more advantageously,  she will be able to move items to where I decide to build the rowboat since she has legs. In cute little white tights.

Meet Keela!

Well actually its my good friend the mighty Brynhilde

and some very nice people I spend time with might recognise the setting tooo hehehe

I took that on another server too, what a cheat! But Keela looks like that and I can get away with it because Brynhilde’s astounding armourage doesn’t show in Wurm  – yet. So I’m making the most of that while I can. Basalt and Keela haven’t met yet and can’t take pics of eachother.

The point is I can use a number of alts to store ship parts. If you were mad, you could probably even have enough alts to build a caravel. I don’t know if that’s possible, and I don’t think I want to ever try it.  Storage-alts would be my solo plan for building a boat if I was playing solo, and for this post it’s my backup plan, which is why she is created already, and will be moved about some as required. For a start she can travel to Basalt and get that mooring anchor.

Until such time as people can store things safely and without decay, storage alts will be used, but though not game-illegal I couldn’t tell you if this sort of use of extra alts “intended” or will be squished at some point. Extra alts are used for a lot of things that game design doesn’t address. For example Wurm is very bad for people who want or need to take a break from it – everything you built up decays and is destroyed which is a huge barrier to coming back. What you can do if you have to leave for a prolonged time is sell your belongings, store some on alts and leave some silver in-game on alts, (which have been premium at least once so they are not deleted.). It’s not a great solution, just as Keela isn’t a great solution to the problem of where to safely build a boat when you are a relatively new player.

For this guide  I’m not playing solo, so I’m going to avail myself of something more conventional and see if I can find a good starting out community, like a starting out person might. I personally don’t find this a great solution either to be honest because I’m against forced grouping and one of the reasons I play Wurm is exactly that (dragon killing apart), you can do your own thing and be as good as the next Wurm.

But joining or approaching a community is another way of doing things and here’s a good place to explore it. I have been on the forums and contacted one of the many starter communities advertised. They were very nice, and if all goes well, I will send Basalt to them. I don’t know anyone on Deli, I don’t think – which is why I chose it for this, so I’m going in blind. Or partially sighted – I do know the game a bit which is going to make things easier for me.

Keela to Basalt to get the mooring anchor (and take it back to Tap Dance, a central place with a Templar and water), and Basalt goes to the starter community.  Travelling with new alts, no weapons, no fighting skills, just their wits and the road. Yeah! (or Eeek! depends how you like to play).

Those are my plans, but this is Wurm.

Green Dawg at Dawn….(soulful bluesy guitar music)

So now I’m Keela, Keela the Mule I guess.

A mooring anchor is a weighty thing especially for a new alt with no body stats, so the first thing to do is to divest myself of excess baggage. One other storage option we do have, though it is dreadfully limited, is the bank, so I go find the deed token for Green Dog. Right-clicking the token brings up a screen called (bank) “manage” and asks if I want to set my bank account at Green Dog. On this occasion I do, but normally I wouldn’t. It takes 24 hours to move your account, so usually I would wait and set it where I plan to live. So for me its “yes” and that’s my account at Green Dog, “send”. When I click again there is a huge empty space under ‘manage’ into which I can put 5!!! woohoo count ’em – yes, all of 5 items for safekeeping. Er hem. I think Keela is something of a grumpy alt. Can’t blame her since her entire purpose is to be walking storage – but maybe she’ll cheer up when she hits the open road.

My four heaviest things go in there, and also my pottery bowl. I will want that later, and the starter bowl annoyingly disappears when you die if you cant reach your corpse to retrieve it. I cant remember what else is not no-drop, but that’s the one that’s always irritated me so although it’s light, in it goes!

Next is to arm – sword in right hand, shield on arm (not in hand), then a quick visit to the Bartender for free food and drink since Keela is brand new, and finally a look at the map http://minersahoy.com/Wurm%20Maps/Recent%20Map%20%28Low%20Res%29.png. The maps for the servers are player-made (labours of love) – there are no maps ingame. You can have a lot of fun not using the playermade maps, which can be found on the forums – ok ok don’t throw things at me. Yes, you can survive without a map – hehe, well you can!

Essentially I go south, and from the map there do appear to be roads although Basalt went cross country when she headed for the coast (i.e. got lost).

Keela will use roads, it’s a little safer and she will be moving slowly once she has her load. Right now she is carrying only 4.8kg and is as nippy as a bug on skates.

And off we go, same direction as the screen shot is facing, leaning right along that mountainside. There is a road at the bottom there I think…. ohhh…. it’s getting foggy….Wow

A lot of effort has been put into this part of the starting area – it’s really nicely done. I think these are public forges. That will all have been voluntary. Really nice! And it looks pretty too. Last time I was here it was far bleaker (on Basalt) – just a road. Gosh it has signposts too – Route South 🙂 whee – I’m on my way!

That picture was just outside the Sanctuary. Nobody was online, unfortunately. I’d have liked to ask who did all that work. I think the Sanctuary takes in starting out players – I seem to remember seeing that somewhere, but can’t confirm. Maybe next time I come through someone will be around. Anyway on I go… past some public mines. I am not taking pictures because :

Luckily (with such poor visibility) the way south is very straighforward. I go through Silverton – it’s a lovely big straight road and the only live wildlife I see are these guys.

Hi guys!

And only one person online, with whom I exchanged a brief greeting at Silverton. A very peaceful journey indeed.

As the fog lifts though, I realise that I want to take pictures. The good people in this area of Deliverance seem to have an eye for what suits the Wurmscape. The deeds really do look great.Nothing butts at your eyes. The deeds seem open, clear, very in keeping with what the game gives us. I will take pictures as I travel back or when Basalt makes her journey. This is a beautiful server – or at least this part is. (I haven’t seen the rest.)

… and that’s me safely arrived.

I have no idea where I left Basalt…ooops.

[Basalt’s journey next]

Categories: Guides, Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.